Remembering New Orleans

Today is our last day and as I was working today I had time to think about what New Orleans means to me and what makes me continue to come back.  One thing I love about New Orleans is it’s people.  Despite the extensive amounts of destruction that Hurricane Katrina brought people come back unafraid to regain their lives.  The people are hopeful, positive, and persevere despite the ongoing struggles that are thrown their way.  From this I’ve learned that it is possible for any person to get through anything.  Another thing I love about New Orleans is it’s culture.  The art, music, and food make this city one of a kind.  To me, New Orleans is like living in a dream where the music is festive, the food is delicious, and the people are proud of their city.  Lastly, I love New Orleans because it brings people together.  Every year I make new friends and meet amazing people within the community.  Also, the things we learn, whether it be heartbreaking or uplifting, are difficult to describe to people who haven’t been to New Orleans.  This makes us a group of people who support each other and help each other grow.  I know I’ll be sad leaving, as I always am, but I’m so glad I had the chance to come down again and work with an amazing group of people who have taught me so much.

-Cara

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

