Hello everyone

My name is Cara McAuliffe and I am going to be a junior at Wheelock this upcoming semester.  I’m double majoring in Human Development and American Studies and I was recently accepted to the Child Life Program.  This will be my third service trip to New Orleans.  I was fortunate enough in high school to have a program similar to Wheelock’s that sent students to rebuild for the victims of Hurricane Katrina.  Upon returning home from my first trip in 2008 I knew that would return but I was unsure of how or when. Thankfully, Wheelock has given me that opportunity.  As a freshman at Wheelock I took the New Orleans Service Learning class and returned in May of 2010. The course taught me so much about the city and its people and gave me new insight through interviews in the community. When I returned home again I knew my personal commitment to the people of New Orleans was not completed.  Now, going down as a leader I will be fulfilling my personal goals, but also helping others achieve theirs, which I am beyond excited for.

-Cara

This entry was posted in NOLA, Service Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

